Paul McGirr Tournament for Ulster U16 Clubs

U16 Ulster Club Tournament 2018

The 2018 Tournament launched on Friday 19th October in the Tyrone Centre, Garvaghey where the launch was followed by the draw for the preliminary and quarter finals. Dromore St Dympna’s GAC has again organised a superb championship with great referees, hospitality and the support of our sponsors. The Tyrone Association in Dublin provide the Trophy, AON Contruction are again providing the medals and prizes and Crossbill Gallery part of the Spires Art Group are providing the man of the match awards.  For up to date information over the weeks of the championship and match previews prepared by Dromore PRO Joe Rafferty check out the Facebook page.



The Paul McGirr Tournament was initiated in 1999 in memory of the former Dromore and Tyrone Minor who lost his life when playing for Tyrone in an Ulster Championship game against Armagh. The compeittion was developed and is managed by Dromore St Dympna’s GFC and the matches are held each autumn in Gardrum Park, Omagh Rd, Dromore, Co Tyrone.

The competition is an U16 club championship and the clubs participating, have first to win their own County Championship. In 2010 the tournament was revamped to include all nine county U16 champions and gained added prestige when it received  the official backing of Ulster Council.

The clubs and their communities have enthuasiatically attended the matches the proceeds of which each go directly to the “Spirit of Paul McGirr” and the work the charity is doing in Zambia. The charity is hugely grateful to the committee and volunteers from Dromore GFC who make this happen each year.

The wonderful Cuchulainn bronze winners trophy (pictured) is sponsored by the Tyrone Association in Dublin, Adrian O’Neill and Spires Art.

To find out about the next competition and keep up to date with the latest on Facebook: Dromore GFC and Spirit of Paul Mc Girr pages.


Roll Of Honour

2017Kilcoo GAC, (Down)
2016St Eunan's Letterkenny
2015Clann Eireann (Armagh)
2014Burren (Down)
2013Crossmaglen Rangers (Down)
2012St Enda’s (Belfast)
2011O’Donovan Rossa (Belfast)
2010Watty Glen (Derry)
2008Omagh (Tyrone)
2007Bryansford (Down)
2006Cavan Gaels